velospace is about bikes and the people who ride them marketplace photos random forums

• CommentAuthoriamthejoel
    • CommentTimeAug 24th 2009

Big time newbie here...so please forgive me if this is the wrong place for this but I have a Scwhinn that I think is getting pretty old...got it at a salvo half off saturday for $20.

1) Any ideas on what year it might be?

2) Is it a good candidate for a fixed gear conversion?

Thanks!

• CommentAuthorLyKqiD
    • CommentTimeAug 25th 2009

Posted By: ohsodistantthe geometry of the bike isn't aggressive enough.

That is about the oddest reason I have ever heard not to convert a bike. I highly doubt he plans on hitting the track. Is Mercier Kilo geometry anymore aggressive then this?

Logistically speaking, you have a horizontal drop out so you have enough space to get the right chain tension with a fixed gear conversion.
    • CommentAuthorM0THER

Where are the serial numbers located? Sometimes you can tell by placement and with the actual numbers. Use this site http://www.bunchobikes.com/serialnumber2.htm to figure out the year but I'm going to guess, I'm not sure at all, that your bike is probably made between the 70's and 80's so use that link.

Annnnd

It's totally plausible to make this a conversion. A frame with more of an "aggressive" geometry might take time getting used and most likely cost more than 20$. Having a conversion might ease you into riding fixed gear and eventually, if you do fall in love with it, you'll start blowing crazy cash on frames and other components. It's like a cycle most people go through, I think.
    • CommentAuthordanzap209

Here's what I did with mine.... but you will be wanting to ride something better soon

http://velospace.org/node/20004
    • CommentAuthordanzap209

If you're on a tight budget, build it. You will learn a lot...
    • CommentAuthormmediaman